Posted in Anosmia, Parosmia, smell, taste

Now What?

Ok this isn’t the most inventive title I’ve come up with. So If I’m not careful I could bore you even before I’ve started this post. But hang on though don’t go yet, I want to explain. I feel like I have written so much about my life with Anosmia the definition of me has become a little blurred around the edges. Am I Debbie Jinks, or am I a person with Anosmia?

I was asked to write an article recently for an online magazine, and the theme was ‘Resurrection -what hardship have you come back stronger from’. Id written a piece about my Anosmia for them before, and realised as I sat down and started writing that I was going over the same old ground , my Anosmic journey. I have come back a lot stronger yes, you will have read about this in my previous posts, but I am also different.

Don’t get me wrong I’m not dismissing the whole thing, I haven’t recovered properly. I’m still skinny and can only smell perfumed candles. Food still tastes of nothing apart from the four ‘true’ tastes. I still hate onions and garlic and cant go near food with them in. But my Parosmia has lessened considerably, I  don’t have to cover up my nostril to eat anymore, that’s certainly a better look when I have to eat in front of people now!

So yes I have improved, and I would never have believed it at the time, but good things have actually come out of this nightmare. Like my love of writing, I wold never have put pen to paper, or these days fingers to keyboard had I not acquired Anosmia. It was starting this blog that set the ball rolling and made me realise how much I love to write. To the point where I now have a website called, A Song To Write, and I am planning on writing a book or maybe more than one, you never know!

I would never started my Facebook Anosmia group Living Well With Anosmia, and got to know such lovely strong people, if I hadn’t acquired Anosmia. I love that group and the fact we can support and help each other so much. They often keep me strong when I’m having a bad day and I’m so glad I brought us all together. Facebook isn’t all bad!

I want to start writing about different things now though. Yes I’ve been sitting staring at a blank computer screen for the last hour, but now I know what I want to say.

Every Anosmic has a life outside of Anosmia.

I often see that it my Anosmia group. We have a laugh, share stories about what our week or day has been like, our plans for the weekend. We all still have personalities and relationships and good experiences in our lives. So my posts could go off the subject now and then, maybe I’ll share daft things with you, maybe I’ll share happy things with you and maybe I’ll share sad things with you. Not too often on that subject though I promise.

This blog however will live on, if I have any readers left after that little speech! I know this is a short and sweet post today, but I have to prepare for my blockbuster next time!

So lets chat again soon.

Please remember also my friends it is ‘Anosmia Awareness Day’ on Monday 27th of February so if you’d like to support this please wear red. You can find more information here thank you.

 

What stories or articles would you like to see featured in this blog? Let me know it could be fun!

2 thoughts on “Now What?

Leave a Reply

