Posted in Anosmia, Parosmia

A Merrier Christmas!

This was my second Christmas with Anosmia and yes I was nervous. I didn’t know how I would manage a second time around. Also last Christmas I didn’t have Parosmia just straightforward old Anosmia, if you can call any of this straightforward.

I’m sure if you’ve been following my harrowing journey you’ll know the difference between Anosmia and Parosmia by now. But just in case. Anosmia is a complete lack of smell and taste. Parosmia is a distorted normally horrible sense of smell and taste. So this effects my enjoyment of food immensely. Just imagine if you were chewing on something that tasted like it had come out of a sewer….I wont elaborate I’m sure you get the picture.

So where was I? Oh yes second Christmas. I’m thankful to say that my Parosmia has lessened over time so some food was pretty good. However Onions and garlic were sill disgusting, check out my post ‘Orrible Onions! to be further enlightened.

My family and friends were great, as by then they’d had a lot of experience with my Anosmia, including when it developed into Parosmia, so they knew what I could and couldn’t eat. This made such a lot of difference to my enjoyment at this festive time of year because after all, a lot of it is focussed around good Christmas grub! (Not the nasty things that are laid by flies etc thank goodness)! Anyway apologies, enough of that.

 

I’d like to share with you some of the things I could eat.

veg

Roast vegetables, which consisted of  potato’s, carrots, squash and parsnips. Cooked in olive oil, with salt, pepper and Agave nectar, which is a natural sweetener that you sprinkle over  before roasting. Not pour it on like I did when I  cooked them at home and they ended up a syrupy mush!

Turkey was fine as its pretty bland anyway, served with apple sauce as its sweet, and sweet is always good. The traditional cranberry sauce was a bit too tart.

Cauliflower cheese because cheese is great. Most parosmics will agree its a staple diet for us. The cauliflower was masked by the cheese so that was ok too. Pretty bad on its own though.

(Christmas sausage stuffing that I used to love was a definite no, no, onions argh! I have to be honest I missed that.)

The usual onion gravy was of course totally unpalatable but my wonderful husband found these little chicken gravy pots with no nasty stuff in at all…whoop, whoop!

Christmas pudding was yum. Sweet, gooey with lots of different textures which makes food more exciting. The Custard with it was nice too.

So are you impressed? I certainly was. I actually had a full stomach for a change, and with a few glasses of Amaretto down my neck that was me sorted.

But on a serious note anybody reading this with parosmia or anosmia should give some of  these things a go. They may work for you too.

The whole eating experience gave me such a boost that Christmas was a joy this year. Even getting a bit tipsy was nice as alcohol was pretty bad last time. I was so much happier which made my family so much happier too and I’m glad about that because, yes I felt guilty last year as I know they were tip toeing around trying to do their best. Its always a joy being with family at Christmas which is of course such an important part of it, that wonderful feeling of closeness. But this year was extra special because we were all happy. Its not all about food after all but the love we share with one and other and the being together that counts. Mind you a few party games never go amiss especially with my niece making you run around playing hide and seek with a ton of food sloshing around in your stomach!

img_0804

 

So a Happy New Year to all of you. Lets hear it for 2017, may we all be Merry and Bright, mmm I know that phrase from somewhere!

 

Did you have a good Christmas? What was the best part for you?

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “A Merrier Christmas!

  1. My best part of Christmas was spending Christmas Day and Boxing Day with my lovely family. The Christingle service at church was lovely too a reminder of what Christmas is really about. Happy New Year Debbie you have come a long way. The journey continues
    and I am sure this Christmas will be even better! X

    Like

  2. Wow. I’m so happy to read that you had such a wonderful Christmas Debbie! I know what you mean about Christmas being about family, but food (and drinks) just makes it all-round enjoyable! I thought of you a lot this Christmas actually (seriously!)…I’ll tell you why…I caught this horrible flu that I hadn’t caught in over 5 years and each morning I woke up with a new symptom arggh! I eventually lost my smell and taste and was worried for a bit…so I couldn’t taste my deliciously seasoned turkey that I baked on Christmas Eve and my mother’s (rum) fruit cake! Imagine the agony! I kept saying to myself: “This is how Debbie must feel all the time! :-(” I drank lots of tea with garlic and lemon and ate raw ginger and was so glad when it I got back my taste and smell right before New Year’s! The first thing I did was run to the kitchen and got me a piece of that turkey that I saved, fruit cake and ponche de creme (that’s a local liquor that we make here in Trinidad and Tobago with evaporated and condensed milk and rum! Yumm Yumm. Happy New Year’s Debs. Cheers to a new lease on life and not taking stuff for granted! Thanks for sharing your story with us.Talk to you soon! xoxo

    Like

  3. Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a lovely Christmas! It must be very difficult, but it sounds like your family are understanding and supportive, which makes all the difference. Happy new year, and hope 2017’s off to a wonderful start for you!

    Like

  4. So glad you managed to enjoy Christmas in spite of this. It’s terrible how Christmas has been completely taken over by the food and gift industry, this has been a good reminder that it’s about a whole lot more. Thank you

    Like

  5. I am glad that you had a meaningful Christmas. Those foods you mentioned sounds great! It made me hungry at the moment. I am hoping to eat again something. Haha! Anyway, being with family during the festive season is one of the best experiences in the world.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much. Yes I enjoyed the food you should give the roast veg a go it’s really nice, and the Christmas pudding of course. The main thing for me was definitely being with my lovely supportive family though.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

