Posted in Anosmia, Parosmia

Letter To My Nose.

Hello reader, if you’ve been following my blog you will by now be familiar with both my Anosmia and Parosmia so this should make sense. If not please have a look at my older posts especially the ones under the ‘Parosmia’ categories and you will know what this letter is talking about, and why my nose isn’t exactly popular these days. Why am I writing a letter to my nose? Well because I want to and sometimes writing things down helps, its how this blog started off in the first place after all!

sunflowers-1572369_1920

Dear Nose,

Why have you let me down so much?

I know its not directly your fault that my nerve fibres severed from you when I banged my head and now they don’t work properly anymore. But you could heal better instead of getting all of them mixed up leaving me with Parosmia.

Have you any idea how it feels to hardly taste my food and what I do taste is normally disgusting?

Its left me hating you quite a bit especially when you decided to leave me with one nostril that cant smell anything and the other constantly distorted. When I have to embarrass myself at the dinner table by having to press down on the nostril that gives me a horrible smell and taste, taking that experience away for a bit so that I can actually eat something!

Yes ok you’ve helped me discover writing and I don’t know if I would have tried that otherwise, but why cant you heal properly for me? Are you ever going to? Should I be grateful for what I’ve got back? Oh so many questions and you aren’t answering any one of them. You’ve certainly messed me up a lot.

Oh nice of you to give me the odd decent smell back like vanilla candles, but is that it? I wouldn’t mind perfume, cut grass, food cooking thank you very much! Also I know I can taste the four true tastes i.e. Salt, Sweet, Hot and Umami and maybe I should be grateful that I’ve got that much, but I’d also like umm let me see …. chocolate, spices, tomatoes, beef, chicken and the rest.

I’m trying not to blame you I’m really not. I suppose what I should be doing is helping you out by getting back into my smell training and trying to stick to it this time! Maybe that way we’ll both be encouraged….especially if it starts to work. If I’m not helping myself I’m not helping you either.

So I’m seeing Chrissi my smell trainer soon and I will be honest and tell her how I’m struggling. I know she’ll understand and you know her well enough these days. Hopefully she’ll get me back on track then you and I might be able to come to some sort of agreement. We could see eye to eye again. Ha, ha the irony!

So lets have a go at helping each other, work as a team instead and see how we get on.

Love (ish)

Debbie x

P.S. I’ll try and start loving you again if you love me back too.

rose-1556902_1920

 

 

4 thoughts on “Letter To My Nose.

Leave a Reply

